5 Answers to Your Questions — “Indiana’s New Abortion Law”

“Indiana’s New Abortion Law”

Laws and liberties seem to be in constant flux. One hot legal topic segregating people on one side or the other is abortion. Recently, a law was passed in the Midwest state, Indiana, that made abortion illegal. Here are five answers to questions you might have about Indiana’s new Abortion Law:

1. Why was it passed?

The law puts constraints on aborting fetuses that are abnormal. It bans mothers from aborting unborn children after discovering that they suffer from an abnormality, like a mental or physical disability.

2. What does it change?

While this law’s aims are well placed, it doesn’t denote that additional assistance will be given to families expecting a special needs child. Raising a child with a disability can be very costly, at an average of $2.3 million over their lifetime. This invasive restriction amounts to millions of dollars spent where families with low-income can’t afford.

3. Who is against it?

Planned Parenthood and the American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana and Kentucky are suing the state of Indiana, claiming that the law is unconstitutional. Indiana is being shown as a state that lacks respect for women because they have chosen to enact a law that invades a woman’s privacy and takes away her control to make her own decision.

4. Are people protesting?

In protest, women have found an unusual way to let Governor Pence understand their opinion. Women all over the state have been calling the Governor’s office to report their menstrual cycles in bewildering detail. This protest is certainly pro-choice while the state is advocating a pro-life stance. Many other delegates in Indiana oppose this law, but don’t believe that these protests or the lawsuit will be enough cause for the bill to be revoked.

5. What about other states?

Abortion State Laws vary across the country from a range of 20-27 weeks. States that allow abortion up to the first 20 weeks of the pregnancy are North Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, North Carolina, West Virginia, and until recently Indiana. States allowing abortion up to 21-27 weeks include California, Washington, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Arizona, Wyoming, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, South Carolina, Florida, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New York. The remaining states — Alaska, Hawaii, New Mexico, Colorado, Oregon, New Jersey, Vermont, and New Hampshire — have no restrictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *